Living the good life…

A good life?

4c13b29bf88fa023c86c90fabfee67e3

I think that for me, it is living life with no regrets. That is not to say I refuse to regret choices I make. It is to say that I will make choices based on not regretting making the wrong choices. Probably impossible to do, but as we grow in life, we learn from our mistakes. We learn from those around us. I think though that it is making smart decisions.

It is taking the plunge and doing things that frighten me – and I laugh later at the thought of the previous fear that I had. It is taking a deep breath and doing what I thought not possible. As John Fitzgerald Kennedy said: “We should not let our fears hold us back from pursuing our hopes.”  I have learned that in life comes hope. Hope of a brighter tomorrow, hope at the end of the day. While life seems impossibly  challenging at times – we do have hope. C.S. Lewis said: “God cannot give us a happiness and peace apart from Himself, because it is not there. There is no such thing.” And I personally have found that to be true. We can look under rocks, we can hike hundreds of miles, we can walk through Death Valley – but I have found no true peace in Buddha, no true peace in New Age mysticism, no true peace in anything but God, Jesus Christ. I am not an uneducated hick though I may sometimes sound like I am because of how I choose to write. I have 3 Master’s Degrees – I will likely be obtaining a PhD or a JD. Not all of us choose this road. Some choose this road after a long and bloody battle. I encourage you to not take the road to self-destruction, the road that leads to many regrets – all too often we cannot find our way back. It is an awful thing to look back at your life and not know how to fix it or change it. I come from a family who has made many destructive decisions – many of which have affected me. We cannot control the impact of our decisions, whether they be on ourselves, our children, or generations to come.

download (1)

So, today, tomorrow, and in the future – may you make decisions to the best of your ability. Never cut a tree down in the wintertime. Never make a negative decision in the low time. Never make your most important decisions when you are in your worst moods. Wait. Be patient. The storm will pass. The spring will come. Robert H. Schuller

Leave a Reply

